Domino’s: Suggested Tip Included Tax and Delivery Charge
Online, Online · Reported
A commenter reported that a Domino’s online order calculated suggested tips from a total that included both tax and a delivery charge.
Report archive
Earlier pages of the archive, kept visible so dated reports remain easy to find.
Online, Online · Reported
A commenter reported that a Domino’s online order calculated suggested tips from a total that included both tax and a delivery charge.
Online, Online · Reported
A commenter reported that Uber Eats calculated a 15% suggested tip using the food, tax, and platform fees together.
Toronto, ON · Reported
A customer photographed a cafe payment terminal in Toronto asking for confirmation after they selected a $0 tip.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter described a restaurant bill where an existing service charge and tax were both included in the base used for the additional suggested tip.
Location not reported · Reported
A diner reported a handheld payment screen that listed 30% first, followed by 25% and 20%. The poster said the reversed order nearly led them to select the highest amount. The restaurant and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter described an outdoor venue where customers scan a QR code, place the order, receive a text, and pick up the order themselves. The screen reportedly showed 25%, 30%, and 35%. The venue and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter reported a hair-salon screen with 30%, 35%, and 40% choices. The commenter said the Other button did not work and staff suggested choosing one of the displayed percentages. The salon and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A mini-golf kiosk showed a tip prompt with no visible no-tip choice. The customer had to ask staff and learned that pressing the unlabeled green confirmation button would skip it.
New Orleans, LA · Reported
A convention attendee described a self-serve hotel café where the tip screen had no direct no-tip choice and required extra steps to finish without one.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter reported that a nearby Mexican restaurant offered no way to select no tip when buying beans and churros.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter described a self-order kiosk that added an 18% charge and then offered 20%, 25%, and 30% tips. The customer reported no way to complete a separate order without the forced amount.
Location not reported, NE · Reported
A traveler reported a Scooter’s Coffee screen in Nebraska with only 15%, 20%, and 25%. The screen reportedly offered no cancel, zero, or custom amount choice.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter reported small businesses that configured checkout with only 15%, 25%, and 35% choices and no custom or no-tip control.
Online, Online · Reported
A cross-post linked a checkout image from a carryout or delivery app with suggested tips of 30%, 40%, and 50%. The app, restaurant, and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter described a Chinese restaurant where staff did not turn the payment screen toward the customer and instead asked aloud how much they wanted to tip. Declining required telling the employee directly.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer picking up a prepaid sandwich order reported that the payment screen required a tip before continuing. After the clerk said a tip was required, the customer left the order.
New York, NY · Reported
A photographed New York City bill included an 18% service charge. The printed additional tip suggestions were calculated from a total that also included the service charge and tax.
Location not reported · Reported
A Bankrate writer reported being asked for a tip while making a reservation to pick strawberries themselves.
Newark, NJ · Published
A firsthand Bankrate account reports a tip prompt after the author selected and scanned a premade sandwich at Newark Liberty International Airport. No suggested amounts were stated.
Location not reported · Reported
A commenter in the receipt discussion reported a recent haircut checkout with a suggested range from 25% to 35%. The salon and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A photographed bar receipt listed 25%, 35%, and 99% suggestions. Some commenters interpreted the 99% choice as an April Fools joke, while others noted that 25% was still the lowest displayed suggestion. The bar and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photo or screenshot in Bored Panda’s 2024 visual roundup documents this report under the title “They Can't Even Provide You With The Proper Crossword Puzzle And Still Add A Mandatory 15% Tip To Your Bill!.” The roundup links to the original post (https://www.reddit.com/r/EndTipping/comments/1bao3jj/they_cant_even_provide_you_with_the_proper/). The business and location were not independently confirmed.
Location not reported · Published
A photo or screenshot in Bored Panda’s 2024 visual roundup documents this report under the title “When Did 20% Become Customary?.” The roundup links to the original post (https://www.reddit.com/r/EndTipping/comments/1bgnhmw/when_did_20_become_customary/). The business and location were not independently confirmed.
Location not reported · Published
A photo or screenshot in Bored Panda’s 2024 visual roundup documents this report under the title “I Could Not Imagine Giving A Tip This Big.” The roundup links to the original post (https://www.reddit.com/r/EndTipping/comments/1bckdgd/i_could_not_imagine_giving_a_tip_this_big/). The business and location were not independently confirmed.