Restaurant: Tip Base Included a 4% Card Fee
Location not reported · Reported
A photographed restaurant receipt showed suggested tips calculated after tax and after a 4% credit-card charge, including for customers who might pay cash.
The full hall of shame
More dated reports from the archive, newest first. Open a report for its source, location, and any photo or video.
Location not reported · Reported
A photographed restaurant receipt showed suggested tips calculated after tax and after a 4% credit-card charge, including for customers who might pay cash.
Portland, OR · Reported
A PDX coffee terminal offered 18%, 20%, 25%, or Other, but no no-tip button. The customer reported that Other would not accept $0.00, so they entered one cent to continue.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer posted a photo of a tip jar at a shop that handled Western Union transactions and digital fingerprinting for background checks. The business and location were not identified.
Syracuse, NY · Reported
A traveler shared a photo of a tip screen after buying water at a self-checkout kiosk in Syracuse Hancock International Airport.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer reported being asked for an extra payment by cash, Venmo, or Zelle after an oil change. The specific location was not identified.
Los Angeles, CA · Published
A customer posted a photo from an unidentified Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in Los Angeles showing unusually small tip choices. The poster said one displayed choice worked out to four cents and the barista attributed the setup to the store owner. Commenters viewed the screen as a low-pressure alternative to high default tips.
Location not reported · Reported
A Reddit user said a restaurant bill for a party of ten included an 18% service charge. Discussion of the receipt said the suggested tip calculation appeared to use a total that included the charge. The business and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A photographed group bill included an 18% service charge, then displayed additional suggested tips calculated from the subtotal plus that existing charge.
Location not reported, OR · Reported
A photographed payment screen at an Oregon dive bar showed 40%, 30%, and 20% choices in descending order.
Tucson, AZ · Reported
A traveler posted a photo of a tip prompt at a fully self-service airport kiosk. In the discussion, the poster identified the airport as Tucson International. The displayed tip choices were not readable in the source text.
Location not reported · Reported
A diner reported that the suggested tip amounts on a restaurant receipt were calculated from the total including tax. The business, location, and displayed percentages were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A customer video showed a Wendy’s self-order kiosk offering $1, $3, and $5 tip choices on a $7.09 order. The article did not identify the location.
Location not reported · Published
A shopper described a bookstore register asking for a tip even though the only service was ringing up the purchase. The bookstore and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A Reddit user described a car-wash screen asking for a tip before an automated wash. The poster said workers guided the car and operated the terminal, while air dryers handled the finish
Location not reported · Reported
A customer reported a tip request at the entry screen of an automatic car wash where workers guided the car and pressed buttons the driver could otherwise reach. Towels and cleaning supplies were separately charged.
Location not reported · Reported
A patient paying an $84.90 balance online posted a screenshot showing $1 already entered, plus $1, $2, $3, and Other choices.
Location not reported, CA · Reported
A California customer reported filling a cup, dispensing yogurt, and adding toppings without assistance before a cashier weighed it and presented 15%, 20%, and 25% tip choices.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer described a checkout with 20%, 25%, and 30% defaults while the no-tip choice was hidden behind three button presses.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer described picking up a pizza order and receiving tip choices of 20%, 25%, and 30% at checkout. The restaurant and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A customer reported seeing a tip line when paying a water bill in person. The utility and location were not identified, and the poster suggested the payment system might not have been configured for that transaction.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer reported that the credit-card payment link for a plumbing invoice placed a tip option at the top of the page. The company and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A customer posted a checkout screen that asked for a tip after they scanned a $7 bottle of water. The business and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Reported
A diner reported finding an undisclosed service charge on the check and tip suggestions calculated after tax and the charge. The restaurant removed the charge when asked; the business and location were not identified.
New York, NY · Reported
A visitor reported that, after declining a tip at a pizza shop near the Brooklyn Bridge, a worker told them they would be better off going to McDonald’s. The shop was not named.