Prediction App: $1, $5, or $9 Tip
Online · Published
A screenshot shows an online prediction tool asking for $1, $5, or $9 to power its predictions, with $5 selected. The app was not identified in the roundup text.
Report archive
Earlier pages of the archive, kept visible so dated reports remain easy to find.
Online · Published
A screenshot shows an online prediction tool asking for $1, $5, or $9 to power its predictions, with $5 selected. The app was not identified in the roundup text.
Location not reported · Published
A hotel minibar bottle photographed with a $49 price tag also states that an additional 15% gratuity and taxes apply. The hotel was not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photographed checkout for a $12.68 total displays 20%, 30%, and 100% tip choices. The business and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photographed Terry Black’s Barbecue pickup checkout requires a minimum 10% tip. The source did not identify which location.
Location not reported · Published
A photographed food-hall checkout presents 18%, 20%, and 22% tip choices; the accompanying post says a custom $0 amount was rejected. The venue and location were not identified.
Online · Published
A photographed online checkout asks the customer to add a 5%, 10%, or 15% tip while purchasing a T-shirt. A no-tip option is visible.
Location not reported · Published
A social-media screenshot reproduced in a visual roundup shows a restaurant owner telling customers that 20% is the minimum tip and that people unwilling to pay it should stay home. The restaurant and location were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photographed receipt tells customers that a minimum 15% tip is needed to provide employees a livable wage. The restaurant and location were not identified.
Online · Published
A screenshot shows an online retail checkout warning that the customer left $0.00 and asking whether that might have been an accident. The retailer was not identified.
Richmond, VA · Published
A photographed Moore Street Cafe receipt adds 15% gratuity to a takeout order and says additional gratuity is appreciated. The restaurant’s own site also states that 15% is added to to-go orders.
Location not reported, FL · Published
A Florida customer photographed an automated Mister Car Wash checkout offering $1, $2, and $5 tip choices even though the customer vacuumed and cleaned the car. The exact location was not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photographed Second Fiddle checkout lists tip choices of 35%, 50%, 90%, and 100%. The location and type of purchase were not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A photo in a visual roundup shows a tip jar at a doctor’s office. The practice, location, and requested amount were not identified.
Lake City, FL · Published
A hotel guest photographed a tip box at the free, self-serve breakfast at a La Quinta in Lake City, Florida. No suggested amount was shown.
Location not reported · Published
A photo shows a Valero gas-pump screen presenting 15%, 20%, and 25% tip choices after the customer pumped their own fuel. The station location was not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A counter checkout for a $4.90 croissant displayed $1, $2, and $5 tip choices; the $5 choice was more than the item price. The bakery and location were not identified.
Online · Published
A screenshot shows a hotel-booking page asking for a $9 tip after claiming the customer saved $85.08. The booking site was not identified.
Location not reported · Published
A visual roundup reproduced a social post from a customer who said a laundromat cashier asked for a tip. The business, amounts, and location were not identified.
Austin, TX · Reported
Coverage of a public TikTok reported that a shopper paying about $40 for groceries at Tiny Grocer was asked for a 25% tip.
New York, NY · Reported
A receipt dated January 19, 2024 from Becco in New York adds a 20% service fee, labels it “Open Grat %,” and separately says gratuity is not included.
New York, NY · Reported
A photographed receipt dated January 13, 2024 shows a 20% gratuity added to a party of two even though the printed policy referenced parties of five, followed by another tip line.
Location not reported · Reported
A concert attendee reported that the payment display was zoomed so the no-tip control could not be selected. They had to ask the vendor how to enter 0%.
Location not reported · Reported
A café payment device reportedly started with a €10 minimum tip and showed no no-tip option. The customer had to tell the server, who opened another menu to remove it.
Location not reported · Reported
A photographed restaurant receipt was posted because its suggested-tip table included a 40% choice. The business and location were not identified.