Tip reports

What are you looking for?

9 reportsNewest first
takeoutPhoto at source

Takeout Restaurant: Added $18.22 Tip

Location not reported, CA · Reported

Tip or fee reported; buttons not given

A California customer posted a receipt and card total, alleging that an $18.22 tip (about 22%) was entered after an $80.52 takeout purchase. The restaurant reportedly refunded the amount after the customer complained.

counterPhoto inside

Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf: Near-Zero Tip Choices

Los Angeles, CA · Published

0% · 1%

A customer posted a photo from an unidentified Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in Los Angeles showing unusually small tip choices. The poster said one displayed choice worked out to four cents and the barista attributed the setup to the store owner. Commenters viewed the screen as a low-pressure alternative to high default tips.

self service

Self-Serve Frozen Yogurt: 15% to 25%

Location not reported, CA · Reported

15% · 20% · 25%

A California customer reported filling a cup, dispensing yogurt, and adding toppings without assistance before a cashier weighed it and presented 15%, 20%, and 25% tip choices.

self servicePhoto at source

LAX Self-Checkout: Chicken Strips

Los Angeles, CA · Reported

15% · 18% · 20%

Published coverage of a public video shows a traveler scanning an $18 package of chicken strips at an LAX self-checkout before seeing 15%, 18%, and 20% options and a visible no-tip choice.

self service30% selected

Counter-Service Restaurant: Oakland Area

Oakland, CA · Reported

30%

A diner in the Oakland area reported a 30% tip already selected at a restaurant where customers ordered at the counter, picked up their own food, and cleared their own tables. The restaurant was not identified.